Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Voyage 2006/2007
Archives
26 décembre 2006

15 Dec 2006, kandy, sigiria, polonaruwa

On my second day in

Kandy

I went to the Pinnawela Elephant orphanage. It was beautiful, but not much to see. Lots of elephants; around 80, and it is really impressive to be in the middle, so close to them! As they went to the river to bathe they went past me, the earth was almost shaking! There are elephants of all ages. Some have been found orphants, some were badly hurt (one stepped on a mine, he lost his foot, anotherone got his ear cut of), but they all stay at the orphanage for the rest of their lifes, they are not set free as most of them would not be able to take care of themselves. Didn't take any pictures unfortunately, because my camera didn't work. So i just used the videocamera, but I can't put that onto the computer from here unfortunately.

Je suis allee a L'orphelinat pour elephants a Pinnawela le lendemain de mon arrivee a

Kandy

. C'etait tres beau, mais il y avait pas grand choses a voir. Plein d'elephants, atour de 80, c'est tres impressionnant de se retrouver au milieu, aussi pres d'eux! Quand ils sont alles se baigner a la riviere ils sont passes devant moi, le sol tremblait presque!  Il n'y a pas que des bebes elephants. Quelques uns ont etes trouves orphelins, d'autres etaient blesses (il y en a un qui a

marche

sur une mine, il a perdu un pied, un autre a perdu une oreille), mais ils restent tous a l'orphelinat toute la vie, la plupart d'entre eux ne pourraient pas se debrouiller seul dans la nature. Je n'ai pas pris de photos, mon appareil ne marchait pas, par contre j'ai filme, mais je ne peu pas mettre le film sur internet a partir de cet ordinateur.

There are not many backpackers here at the moment. Mostly because some embassies tell people not to come because of the war. It is a shame, because it is a beautiful country, and unless you go to the north, there is no danger at all, you wouldn't even imagine that there is a war. Sometimes it gets a little lony while travelling here, in the evening when there is nobody at the geusthouses to share impressions with. But its ok, i've got you!!

Il n'y a pas beaucoup de touristes en ce moment. Les ambassades deconseillent de venir a cause de la guerre. C'est dommage, car le pays est merveilleux. Tant que l'on ne va pas dans le nord, il n'y a pas de danger, on ne s'imagine meme pas qu'il y a une geurre ici. Parfois je me sens un peu seule, quand le soir en rentrant il y personne a l'hotel pour partager les impressions de la journee. Mais, c'est pas grave, je vous ai vous!

Went to see the Kandian Dancers (put the pictures in already). Really beautiful, and they finished the show by swallowing fire and walking on fire! Pretty impressive.

Suis allee voir les Danceurs de Kandy (J'ai deja telecharge les photos). Tres tres beau, il sont termine le spectacle en avalant du feu et en marchant sur le feu. Impressionnant.

The last day I went to see the tooth temple (not that interesting, although I learned a lot about boudhism), the national museum (definately not worth it!) and Garrisons British Cemetary (very beautiful and well kept). I the evening I did something very very bad!! Something that I promised myself I wouldn't do... I had a pizza and some icecream! Couldn't take any more curry and spices and rice...

The last day I went to see the tooth temple (not that interesting, although I learned a lot about boudhism), the national museum (definately not worth it!) and Garrisons British Cemetary (very beautiful and well kept). I the evening I did something very very bad!! Something that I promised myself I wouldn't do... I had a pizza and some icecream! Couldn't take any more curry and spices and rice...

Mon dernier jour j'ai visite le temple de la dent (pas tres interessant, bien que j'ai appri pas mal de choses sur le bouddhisme), le musee national (pas la peine d'y aller), et le cimitiere Anglais de Garrison (tres beau et bien entretenu). Le soir j'ai fait quelque chose de tres grave... quelque chose que je m'etait promis de ne pas faire... J'ai mange une pizza puis une glace! J'en pouvais plus du riz, curry et epices....

Went to Sigiria afterwards. It is a big rock, where you have to climb 2500 steps to get to the top. Of course I forgot to bring water, and worse, I forgot to go to the toilet before starting the climb.... It was quicker than expected to climb the steps, and the view is amazing, although a little cloudy. going down was even quicker. However, in stead of watching where I was going, i just followed the crowd. Of course I got lost, and it is no use asking people where to go, either they can't understand or they don't know. They just kept saying: Main road, main road! But I had no idea where the main road was! I had to walk for about 1,5 hours and ended up catching a tuk tuk that took me back.

Suis partie a Sigiria apres. C'est un enorme rocher, il faut monter 2500 marches pour arriver en haut. Bien sur j'ai ooblie d'amener de l'eau, et pire, j'ai oublie d'aller aux toilettes avant de commencer la montee... C'etait plus rapide que je pensait, la vue etait magninfique, bien que il y avait un peu de nuages. La descente etait encore plus vite que la montee.  Bien sur que au lieu de regarder la direction, j'ai suivi les gens devant moi. Je me suis bien evidamment perdue, et ca ne sert a rien de demander le chemin. Ou bien ils ne comprennent pas, ou bien ils ne connaissent pas la route. Ils repetaient juste :route principale, route principale! Mais moi, je savait pas ou elle etait cette route principale. J'ai donc

marche

pendant 1h30 avant de trouver un tuk tuk, qui m'a ramene a l'hotel.

I took the bus to Polonaruwa, one of the ancient cities, where the kings used to live. Found a nice guesthouse. Took a tuk tuk to see the ruins as they are spread all over town. The ruins are very very beautiful, you can almost fell the greatness that was once there. The trip took 4 hours, and although I enjoyed all of it, I was a little tired of ruins.

Le bus m’a amene a polonaruwa, une des ville ou les rois reingaient. Ai trouve un hotel symatique. J’ai visite les ruines en tuk tuk, car ils sont disperces partout dans la ville. Les ruines sont impressionants, on sent Presque la gandeur d’epoque. Le tour a duree 4 heure, et bien que j’ai vraiment aime tout visiter, j’en avait marre des ruines a la fin…

Publicité
Commentaires
Voyage 2006/2007
Publicité
Publicité